Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion GroupsEnglish UsageBritish EnglishESL Teaching
Learnglish.com
Contact UsLink To UsSearch & Site Map

Discussion Groups / English Usage / November 2006



Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

website URLs

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Ray O'Hara - 21 Nov 2006 01:14 GMT
All of these are legitimate companies that didn't spend quite
enough time considering how their online names might appear ... and be
misread.

These are not made up. Check them out yourself!

1. Who Represents is where you can find the name of the agent that
represents any celebrity.  Their Web site is www.whorepresents.com

2. Experts Exchange is a knowledge base where programmers can exchange
advice and views at www.expertsexchange.com

3. Looking for a pen? Look no further than Pen Island at
        www.penisland.net

4. Need a therapist? Try Therapist Finder at WWW.therapistfinder.com

5. There's the Italian Power Generator company,
www.powergenitalia.com

6. And don't forget the Mole Station Native Nursery in New South
Wales,
           www.molestationnursery.com

7. If you're looking for IP computer software, there's always

          www.ipanywhere.com

8. The First Cumming Methodist Church Web site is
www.cummingfirst.com

9. And the designers at Speed of Art await you at their wacky Web site,
           www.speedofart.comwebsites
John Dean - 21 Nov 2006 01:50 GMT
> All of these are legitimate companies that didn't spend quite
> enough time considering how their online names might appear ... and be
[quoted text clipped - 4 lines]
> 3. Looking for a pen? Look no further than Pen Island at
>         www.penisland.net

This one is only legit in the sense that they have a "sample pen" for sale.
Otherwise, they are not a genuine company and they certainly have no range
of pens for sale. Until recently they didn't even have samples - it was just
a spoof website. Now they've obviously realised they can make money. Took me
a while to see this - helped by a penguin in a froup not a million miles
from here.
Signature

John Dean
Oxford

Ray O'Hara - 21 Nov 2006 02:42 GMT
> > All of these are legitimate companies that didn't spend quite
> > enough time considering how their online names might appear ... and be
[quoted text clipped - 11 lines]
> a while to see this - helped by a penguin in a froup not a million miles
> from here.

Actually they claim to have many pens for sale

But it does seem to be a shady site, I trust nothing using PayPal.

Penguin froups are always informative.
R H Draney - 21 Nov 2006 06:56 GMT
Ray O'Hara filted:

>> > All of these are legitimate companies that didn't spend quite
>> > enough time considering how their online names might appear ... and be
>> > misread.
>> >
>> > These are not made up. Check them out yourself!

In addition to the ones listed, I once ran across (and reported here) a company
promising "A New Start" at www.anustart.com...apparently the people who ran the
company discovered the "anus tart" reading and have since relocated their
website....

>Actually they claim to have many pens for sale
>
>But it does seem to be a shady site, I trust nothing using PayPal.

In my role as a user of eBay, I trust little else....r

Signature

"Keep your eye on the Bishop.  I want to know when
he makes his move", said the Inspector, obliquely.

Peter Moylan - 28 Nov 2006 13:43 GMT
> Ray O'Hara filted:
>>
[quoted text clipped - 8 lines]
> the people who ran the company discovered the "anus tart" reading and
>  have since relocated their website....

The power genitalia people also realised their error and relocated.
(They can now be found at
<http://www.batterychargerpowergen.it/indexinglese.html>.) The original
URL now leads to an "under construction" dummy web page, which leads me
to suspect that somebody else has bought the domain name, but hasn't yet
decided what to use it for.

Signature

Peter Moylan                             http://www.pmoylan.org

Please note the changed e-mail and web addresses.  The domain
eepjm.newcastle.edu.au no longer exists, and I can no longer
receive mail at my newcastle.edu.au addresses.  The optusnet
address could disappear at any time.

John Dean - 21 Nov 2006 13:54 GMT
>>> All of these are legitimate companies that didn't spend quite
>>> enough time considering how their online names might appear ... and
[quoted text clipped - 13 lines]
>
> Actually they claim to have many pens for sale

Try to buy one. In fact, try to find a description of one (other than the
aforementioned samples)
Signature

John Dean
Oxford

Two English Faggots - 21 Nov 2006 06:31 GMT
> All of these are legitimate companies that didn't spend quite
>  enough time considering how their online names might appear ... and be
[quoted text clipped - 29 lines]
>  9. And the designers at Speed of Art await you at their wacky Web site,
>             www.speedofart.comwebsites

Is this what you do with your time, english?  You are and always have
been a complete and total a.shole.
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2012 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.