Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion GroupsEnglish UsageBritish EnglishESL Teaching
Learnglish.com
Contact UsLink To UsSearch & Site Map

Discussion Groups / English Usage / July 2009



Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

seriously? NOT.

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Dumbell - 26 Jul 2009 20:32 GMT
foreclosed house

http://www.ozini.com/?p=7072

God's punishment to women:

http://www.ozini.com/?p=7076
Peter Duncanson (BrE) - 26 Jul 2009 20:49 GMT
>foreclosed house
>
>http://www.ozini.com/?p=7072

>God's punishment to women:
>
>http://www.ozini.com/?p=7076

For both those webpages the anti-virus system on my computer said:

   Warning
   In order not to compromise your security, this page will not be
   accessed.
   
   The requested URL has been identified as a potentially dangerous
   website.
   
   In order not to compromise your security, the access to this page
   has been blocked.

And when I asked for further information:

   The website you have attempted to access is a known fraudulent
   website.

Signature

Peter Duncanson, UK
(in alt.usage.english)

Bertel Lund Hansen - 26 Jul 2009 20:56 GMT
Peter Duncanson (BrE) skrev:

> For both those webpages the anti-virus system on my computer said:

>     Warning
>     In order not to compromise your security, this page will not be
>     accessed.

Opera does not report it as a fraudulent site. Neither does
Firefox. Maybe your system reacts because the page sets cookies
on the user system? (which is quite harmless)

Signature

Bertel, Denmark

Peter Duncanson (BrE) - 26 Jul 2009 21:17 GMT
>Peter Duncanson (BrE) skrev:
>
[quoted text clipped - 7 lines]
>Firefox. Maybe your system reacts because the page sets cookies
>on the user system? (which is quite harmless)

I used Firefox. I'm using Avira Premium Security Suite which, among
other things, checks the sites that Firefox is accessing.

I very much doubt whether it is a cookie problem. I allow cookies on my
system except for those from sites blacklisted in Firefox.

The displayed message points to:
http://www.avira.com/en/support/fraud.html

There is also a link to instructions on how to bypass the block on a
website.

For some reason the site is on a list of Phishing websites, “Fraudulent”
sites / subscription traps, and Malware websites.

Signature

Peter Duncanson, UK
(in alt.usage.english)

Skitt - 26 Jul 2009 21:24 GMT
>> Peter Duncanson (BrE) skrev:

>>> For both those webpages the anti-virus system on my computer said:
>>
[quoted text clipped - 20 lines]
> For some reason the site is on a list of Phishing websites,
> "Fraudulent" sites / subscription traps, and Malware websites.

The link explains:
----------------
The website you have attempted to access is a known fraudulent website. The
following categories of websites are classified as potentially dangerous:
[...]
"Fraudulent" sites / subscription traps
Another kind of potentially dangerous website may offer free subscription
that in reality is liable to cost you money. The user is seduced in to
entering their personal data in order to get a free offer. The personal data
is then used to send invoices to the subscribers. Avira products block these
websites and those listed by consumer organizations. We use the addresses
from the [Federation of German Consumer Organizations] (link: www.vzbv.de)
and [Consumer Advice Center of Hamburg] (link www.vzhh.de) through a special
agreement.
[...]
-----------------

In other words, unless you subscribe to something offered on that page and
enter some personal data, there is no danger.
Signature

Skitt (AmE)

Peter Duncanson (BrE) - 26 Jul 2009 21:28 GMT
>>> Peter Duncanson (BrE) skrev:
>
[quoted text clipped - 42 lines]
>In other words, unless you subscribe to something offered on that page and
>enter some personal data, there is no danger.

Unless there is something *really* worth viewing on that site I'll just
leave it blocked.

Signature

Peter Duncanson, UK
(in alt.usage.english)

Dumbell - 28 Jul 2009 00:14 GMT
> Unless there is something *really* worth viewing on that site I'll just
> leave it blocked.

It might be one of the shenanigans of the company placing ads on the page.
Most likely something innocuous albeit annoying.
Bertel Lund Hansen - 26 Jul 2009 22:53 GMT
Peter Duncanson (BrE) skrev:

> The displayed message points to:
> http://www.avira.com/en/support/fraud.html

I wonder why it has not been reported to the site/list/whatever
that Opera accesses or Firefox.

Signature

Bertel, Denmark

contrex - 26 Jul 2009 21:04 GMT
The 1990s called: They want their NOT back.
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2012 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.